The assumptions of skillful teaching

Discussing the core assumption of skillful teaching, Brookfield, in The Skillful Teacher, Chapter 2, expands on some key concepts of being a skillful teacher. The four assumptions discussed were:

  • Skillful teaching is whatever helps students learn
  • Skillful teachers adopt a critically reflective stance towards their practice
  • The most important knowledge that skillful teachers need to do good work is a constant awareness of how students are experiencing their learning and perceiving teachers’ actions
  • College students of any age should be treated as adults

 

This chapter, like I’m sure most will, brought up some thoughts. I am only in my second year of teaching which to me, means I am going to have time to grow and learn with these assumptions.

 

Since I started I have always believed that treating my students as adults is crucial. I know how its exactly how I wanted to be treated when I went through the program, even though I was likely one of the youngest in my class. As for the first thing, I see them as quite related to each other. Obviously helping students is our number one objective. In order to accomplish that, we need to critically reflect in order to keep improving and adapting for our learners. Of course one of the most helpful ways to accomplish teaching our students is to ask them how we can teach them better.

 

Brookfield, Stephen D. (2015). The Skillful Teacher: On technique, trust, and responsiveness in the classroom (Third Edition). San Fransisco: Jossey Bass

 

https://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc/4.0/

CC

Leave a Reply

