Self-Directed Learning

Self-directed learning is tough. There’s no question about it. It may be easier for some, more motivated people, however I know for myself it is a difficult task. I read a pretty simple article about it here: https://uwaterloo.ca/centre-for-teaching-excellence/teaching-resources/teaching-tips/tips-students/self-directed-learning/self-directed-learning-four-step-process. I liked this because it covers the basics of a learning contract, something I have not personally done, but should definitely consider. I am finding myself struggle with the timeline and time management for completing online courses. I have just started making it a priority along with weekly goals, and so far it is going well.

What I like about this course, is the ability to reflect on what we learn though blog posts, journal entries, and eventually an essay (which so far I have put off because it seems daunting). This reflection on what we’ve learnt so far is concreting the information we should be learning as well as confirming to ourselves and instructor that we are making progress.

The next step is to review what I learnt about motivation and get working on my essay.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

