Memory – Science of Learning

http://www.cdl.org/articles/what-strategies-can-be-used-to-increase-memory/

I chose this article for two reasons, it has a quiz at the beginning, and I like lists. My score on the self-test was 18. Accordingly to this, my memory needs a little work.

Going through the list I notice quite a few points that I can relate to in being a trades instructor. Our program is very content heavy and we often fall into the trap of remembering information. Although this will help them be successful on their final exam in the program, it does not necessarily make them better electricians, which is our ultimate goal. With our lab component we are able to have multi-sensory instruction which aids in reaching our goal. With these “content heavy” courses, I believe it is imperative we are always trying different ways to help our students learn. For myself I want to work on developing some mnemonic devices for use of understanding system components and sequence of operations.

Using some of these strategies to help my students I think will go a long way in furthering their career and education goals.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

 

Leave a Reply

