Characteristics of Adult Learners

You often hear the phrase “You can’t teach an old dog new tricks”. Many of us who have owned dogs know this is certainly not true. You may just have to teach the dog the trick in a different way. I don’t like to compare humans to dogs, however one thing that can be said, is that as we grow older and our lives change, we begin to learn in different ways.

I found this interesting article relating to characteristics of adult learners: https://elearningindustry.com/8-important-characteristics-of-adult-learners. The one that speaks the most to me as a new adult learners is number 2, practical and results oriented. When taking a course I find it much easier to stay motivated when I have a real world usage for the content I am covering. This for me is also very applicable in the course I teach. When we find ways to relate what we are teaching to the real world of electrical, the level of commitment and interest from our students is much higher. In regards to PIDP it is helpful being able to take what I learn on my spare time in courses and relate it to my daily teaching.

Just because we learn differently as we age, doesn’t mean we should ever stop learning.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.

Leave a Reply

